Canadian claims 2016 MVT Award

Canadian claims 2016 MVT Award

Yvon Jeaurond, the service manager at Victoria Golf Club in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, has been selected as the recipient of the 2016 Most Valuable Technician Award, presented by GCSAA and Golf Course Management (GCM) magazine, in partnership with Foley United.

Now in its seventh year, the award recognizes excellence among golf course equipment managers and the vital role they play in the golf course management industry. Equipment managers are nominated by their golf course superintendents, and a panel of industry judges narrows the nominations to three finalists. GCM readers then vote for the winner through the association’s website.

“There is no debate that competent and professional equipment managers such as Yvon contribute significantly to the overall success of a golf facility,” said Rhett Evans, GCSAA CEO. “We’re excited that we can recognize those contributions through the presentation of the Most Valuable Technician Award, and we thank Victoria’s GCSAA Class A superintendent, J. Paul Robertson, for nominating Yvon for the award and sharing his extraordinary story with us.”

According to Robertson, Jeaurond’s official title of service manager is appropriate considering his duties extend far beyond just the upkeep of Victoria Golf Club’s course maintenance equipment. A veteran of more than three decades in the auto industry before transitioning to golf and his current position almost 11 years ago, Jeaurond oversaw the development and construction of the club’s new $3 million maintenance building, a process that included the design and installation of customized material-handling and wash-water recycling systems.

A member of GCSAA, the Canadian Golf Superintendents Association and the British Columbia Golf Superintendents Association, Jeaurond also designed and built his own equipment to lift, store and grind mowing reels. When he’s not on the golf course, he volunteers his time to teach automotive maintenance at a local college and serves on a community board in Victoria dedicated to environmental advocacy and planning.“In my 30 years as a golf course superintendent, I have never met or worked with a more qualified and hard-working service manager,” said Robertson, a 20-year GCSAA member.

Jim Letourneau, the president of Foley United, said, “All of us at Foley United are thrilled to continue our sponsorship of this award and recognize talented equipment managers such as Yvon. He is a great example of the kind of talented, innovative professionals working in these roles at golf courses all over the U.S. and Canada, and we’re pleased that we can recognize these individuals through the presentation of the Most Valuable Technician Award.”

Also selected as finalists for this year’s award were Donald Crossway, the equipment manager at Kapalua Golf Club in Lahaina, Hawaii, and J.R. Wilson, the equipment manager at Noyac Golf Club in Sag Harbor, N.Y.

Previous MVT Award Winners
2015 — Cory Phillips, Horseshoe Bend Country Club, Rosewell, Ga., and the Golf Club of Georgia, Alpharetta
2014 — Joe Stefanick, Seven Lakes Golf and Tennis Community, Fort Myers, Fla.
2013 — Brian Heywood, The Valley Club, Hailey, Idaho
2012 — Jim Stuart, Stone Mountain (Ga.) Golf Club by Marriott
2011 — Gene Pascareli, Colorado Springs Country Club
2010 — Ramon Salas, Azusa Greens Country Club, Azusa, Calif.

Previous Qualified Turf Equipment Technicians a Thing of the Past?
Next Bellerive Country Club - St. Louis, Missouri

You might also like

Industry News 0 Comments

BTME 2016 Less Than Two Weeks Away!

With the Christmas and New Year celebrations over, all thoughts now turn to the show of the year at the Harrogate International Centre – BTME 2016 is less than two

Industry News 0 Comments

Nominations are Now Open for the Edwin Budding Award

GCSAA has announced that nominations are now open for the Edwin Budding Award. You can submit your nominations here. The GCSAA Edwin Budding Award is presented annually to an individual

Breaking News 0 Comments

2015 Superintendent of the Year Finalists

Ten finalists have been chosen by our panel of judges from a field of 128 nominees for the 2015 TurfNet Superintendent of the Year Award, presented by Syngenta. Criteria on


No Comments Yet!

You can be first to comment this post!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.